Romance Novels and Sex in the Horror Genre

As I have stated in an earlier post, I am a woman. I am a woman who HATES romance novels. Honestly, I just don’t see the point in them. They’re filled with nothing but unlikely scenarios, gratuitous sex, and the same old thing time after time. Boy meets girl, they fall in love, one of them leaves or dies or cheats on the other…blah, blah, blah.  However, judging by the success of books like Fifty Shades of Grey, I am in the minority. But let’s look at how necessary sex is to a horror novel…

There is at least one sex scene in almost every horror novel I read. Does it belong there? I guess most people think so and I can definitely see how it enhances the realism of the story, to a point.

Let me say this…if the world was ending and I was a survivor of the zombie apocalypse or a flu that turned everyone’s insides to jelly, the last thing I think I would be in the mood for is sex.  I mean, c’mon…really? The whole world is dying let me have sex or I just lost everyone I loved but I need sex to make me feel better. Uh, no.  

Of course if the last guy on Earth was Tom Hiddleston or Chris Hemsworth, I might just change my tune.

Tomorrow’s review…The Flu.

Leave a Reply

