A good book, or is it?

After thoroughly enjoying Savage yesterday, I started thinking about why I enjoy the books I enjoy and hate the ones I hate.

Writers, readers, and people like me who like to review what I’ve read, all have different ideas of what makes a book enjoyable, right? 

For me it boils down to a few simple things:

  • Believable dialogue
  • Exciting story
  • Proper Editing
  • Character development

It would seem that most people look for all of those same things in a story. However, I tend to be extremely harsh when it comes to judging a book. If the story doesn’t grab my attention and hold it in the first few pages, I’m done. I don’t have the time or patience for long, drawn out setting descriptions or a ton of back story from the get go. There’s time for that and it’s usually better sprinkled throughout the book rather than in two boring chapters at the beginning. 

I am one of the most loyal readers I have ever met, if that makes sense. If I find one book from a particular author that I love, I will buy and read EVERYTHING that author has ever written. I will be the first to support that author’s new work and will support everything he/she does.

If I hate a book, such as The Dead Years I won’t give that author a second chance to gain my loyalty…ever.

Leave a Reply

