What Are You Afraid Of?

Thank you to those who have followed my little blog. This isn’t the first blog I’ve written but it has been the one I’ve enjoyed the most. Horror is a fun subject to write about and I would do it even if no one ever read it. 

I was watching Breaking Bad a little while ago. I can’t get enough of that show. It got me thinking about how everyone is afraid of something. Spiders, snakes, flying, heights…something. In Walt’s case, he’s afraid of leaving his family with nothing when he dies. If you’ve never watched the show, check it out on Netflix. It’s amazing!  Anyway…

People who know me think it’s funny and a little odd that I’m not afraid of anything. I go to scary movies with friends or one of my daughters, and laugh as they cover their heads and scream at the scary parts. I only read horror novels these days because everything else is boring. My daughter thinks there is something wrong with me, which makes me laugh. I tell everyone that nothing scares me, but that’s not completely true.

I am afraid of one thing…death. The thought scares the hell out of me. Maybe that’s why I’ve embraced the horror genre so wholeheartedly. I can sit and watch or read about fictitious characters dying horrific deaths until I’m blue in the face and never flinch. Talk to me about MY death and I just might have a panic attack.

I don’t know what it is that scares me about dying.  Maybe it’s the thought of being buried six feet under the ground in a box. I really don’t know. What I do know is that I cannot fathom not being here. Not waking up in the morning and going about my day. Not thinking, feeling, working, playing…doing everything that is, in a word, living. Make sense? I simply can’t comprehend it and I guess being afraid of what we don’t comprehend is natural. Either that or I’m weird, and that is entirely possible as well.

This fear of mine doesn’t keep me from doing stupid things. I drive too fast on the highway. I’m a smoker. I eat junk food all the time. I work from home, sit on my ass writing all day, and never take the time to get enough exercise. I’m not overweight, but any doctor will tell you that exercise is important for thin people as well as those who need to shed some pounds.

So there you have it. The one and only thing I’m afraid of. What are your fears? Do you think they’re rational? Justified? Are you a person who can live life to its fullest without worrying about the consequences but cringe when someone gets their head chopped off in a book or movie, or are you the opposite, like me?

Maybe now I’ll go get some exercise…

Nah. Breaking Bad is on.

One thought on “What Are You Afraid Of?

Leave a Reply

