Review: The Unwashed Dead

Image The Unwashed Dead is the first in a series of books written by Ian Woodhead dealing with the zombie apocalypse. I just finished it last night and thought I would slam it, er…review it while it is still fresh in my mind.

Let me say that Ian Woodhead is a sweetheart. He really is a nice guy whom I have talked to on several occasions. However, that doesn’t necessarily mean I like what he writes. This isn’t the first book of his I’ve read, and sadly, I haven’t found one I’ve loved yet.

The Unwashed Dead tells the story of a zombie outbreak that occurs in England and it is told from many different perspectives. For some it may be a little confusing because the author does jump around quite a bit. The typos in this book just like others edited by Monique Happy Lewis are abundant and are bad enough to take away from the story. Sentences like “He was always a pain in my read end” should never be allowed to show up in the pages of a published book, and misspellings and grammatical errors abound within the pages of The Unwashed Dead.

During the telling of this story, we do meet some interesting characters such as Dennis, a serial killer who deals with the tragedy the best way he can, by killing people and wondering how they taste. In instances like this, Woodhead’s book is unique. As a whole, this zombie tale is the same old, same old.

Maybe I’ve been spoiled by the work of Konrath, King, Wright, and others and expect more from my books, and if that’s the case, I guess I will have to search awhile to find one that meets my expectations.

The Unwashed Dead is available as part of a 2-book set for 99 cents in the U.S. and 77p in the UK.

The Unwashed Dead – US

The Unwashed Dead – UK

Leave a comment