Review: After

ImageOkay, it’s been awhile since my last review but I’m sure you all know how it is when life gets in the way of doing the fun stuff. Since I am a writer/editor, the paid writing has to come before updating this blog but I swear, if I have to write one more chicken article I may pull my hair out. 

Anyway, I’ve been reading tons at night after work and I couldn’t decide what to review today. After considering my options and because this guy is one of my favorite authors, I have decided to give a brief overview of the After series by Scott Nicholson. This man’s books are so consistently good that I’ll just lump the three books I’ve read into one little review. The fourth book, After: Milepost 291 just came out a day or so ago and I haven’t gotten to it yet but I have already purchased it and can’t wait to give it a go.

So…After: First Light (Book Zero)  is the first book in the series and is a short but action-packed novella about something that could really happen at any moment. The Earth is hit by a series of solar flares that wipe out communication, power, and basically all technology, but that’s not the worst part. The radiation that affects the planet also causes people to die by the billions. Those who don’t die may wish they were dead as they change into violent “animals” who begin attacking everyone.

As the series continues in After: The Shock, and After: The Echo, we meet Rachel Wheeler, a young woman who sets out across the Appalachian Mountains to find her survivalist grandfather and the compound (Milepost 291) he has set up. Grandpa is a little crazy but he’s certainly got the right idea. 

As with almost all the post-apocalyptic books,I have read, and there have been plenty, I was enthralled by this story. It’s not really a zombie series, but it is reminiscent of zombie stories, if that makes sense. I found myself relating to Rachel even though I was a little envious of the strength she finds along her journey. (Without my phone, computer, and coffee maker, I’d be a sniveling baby and get beaten to death in a matter of minutes.)

Author Scott Nicholson is a really nice guy and a great writer. As I have said before, things like this don’t scare me, but this series is full of action and suspense and is a must-read for any fans of apocalyptic stories. 

After: First Light is always free and once you read it, you’ll be more than ready to buy the rest of the books in the series.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

