Review: Peeler by Gord Rollo

Image I am under the assumption that Gord Rollo is a big name in the horror genre right now. Honestly, I hadn’t heard of him until I saw someone mention him a couple of days ago on Facebook. Since most people had nice things to say about his books, I downloaded Peeler because it was free and gave it a try.

Peeler is a short story that only took me a few minutes to read so it was good that I got it for free. The story is about an aspiring chef working in a mental hospital. Randy Baxter has a troubled past that involved self-mutilation. While working in the mental hospital, he learns there is a patient there who also practices self-mutilation and wants to meet him to learn what makes him tick in the hopes of conquering his own demons.

You may be able to guess how the Peeler self-mutilates by the title of the book. If not, I won’t ruin it for you, but suffice it to say, this book is pretty gory and not for those with a weak stomach. 

Honestly, besides the gore factor, I didn’t see anything about Rollo’s writing that jumped out at me and made me want to buy more of his books. If I come across more of his books for free, maybe.  If not, I’m in no hurry. Peeler is a unique, creepy story involving very disturbed people which made it worth reading, but he didn’t offer me anything I can’t find elsewhere. 

Leave a Reply

