Writing For a Cause

I’m going to take a minute to stray from horror reviews to talk about something that needs the attention of people around the world. 

Let me start by saying that what I’m about to tell you comes from the heart and I hope some can understand where I’m coming from. If not and you think I’m way off base, I apologize and will get back to the scary stuff in a day or two. 

For the last week, I have been writing, for my job, articles about the animal kingdom and things like the food web, animal families, extinction, etc. The more I write, the more pissed off I get. People bitch, moan and complain when the world doesn’t go their way: Maybe their wireless carrier dropped a call or maybe the liquor store was out of their favorite beer. Big deal.

These same people say global warming isn’t real. They don’t realize or worse yet, ignore what is right in front of their faces: the forests are disappearing at an amazing rate. Trees are being cut down, and animals left without a home or killed. Humans are populating the planet so quickly, we have to destroy the homes of these animals just to have a place for us to go. These creatures have no say so in all this. They just move, They just die.

Animals, like people, have babies. They feel pain. Some even feel sadness when another of their group is killed. When did we decide it was alright to kill black rhinos and elephants for their tusks just to make a few bucks? When did it become okay to dump enough trash into the oceans to kill the animals who call those oceans their home? When did it become acceptable to pollute the air so much that it caused the planet to get so warm that polar bears don’t have the ice they need to hunt for food? 

What the hell is wrong with us?

I know what you may be thinking. We need to do this. We have to do this to survive. My answer to that? Tell that to the animals that are watching their babies die and whose resources we are depleting. They don’t kill to display a trophy or earn some easy money. They don’t kill to show their friends what badasses they are. They don’t kill because they can. 

I’ve been writing for a living for the last couple of years. I rarely get credited for my work, and I’m really okay with that. I write what I’m told to write and I am good at my job. Never in my life have I come across a cause so important, that it needs to be crammed down peoples’ throats. I am all for “live and let live” but at what price are we living?

I’m smart enough and have been around long enough to know that one little blog post is not going to change the world. But…if by some miracle, (those happen, right?) one person tries to understand the problem, maybe does a little research and changes just one LITTLE thing in their lives, these words I have so emotionally written, will be worth it. 

How can you help? The next time you’re at the beach, pick up some trash. Recycle at home when you can. Adopt an animal through the World Wildlife Fund. Sign petitions. Even if you don’t have much money, there is plenty you can do. Why not finish the day knowing you did everything you could to make a difference? You may not get a pat on the back or any other kind of compensation, but I promise, tonight you’ll sleep better than you have in a long time.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

All images courtesy of the WWF

 

Image   Image    ImageImage  Image

Back to the horror tomorrow with a review of Sleep Tight.

 

Leave a Reply

