Review: Sleep Tight by Jeff Jacobson

61y3PpEaabL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_ Sleep Tight was released last year (2013) and tells the story of a plague caused by bedbugs that were inadvertently smuggled into the U.S. These nasty little bloodsuckers spread a terrifying disease around Chicago. Of course, there are the good guys and the not-so-good guys that show up to try to eradicate, or benefit from the plague.

I can’t say this book was bad, but it seemed so very long. All the books I read these days are on my Kindle app and while reading Sleep Tight, I kept looking down to see how far I had read, only to discover that I was on already on chapter 42 at only 50 percent through the book. I felt like a little kid who says, “Are we there yet?” “Are we there yet?”

The way Jacobson describes the bugs in  this book will give you goosebumps and although parts are just silly and completely outlandish, Sleep Tight is a fun, creepy book that is guaranteed to make you itchy. The end was anticlimactic and I felt as thought the bad guys should have gotten more than they received. The main characters could have used a little more development and the whole book should have been a little shorter. If you’re not familiar with the Chicago area, in particular, the Chicago Loop, you may find yourself a little lost.

All in all, this was a story that I won’t soon forget. It was unique and well-written, but felt dragged out in some places and had an ending that could have been done much better.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to wash all my sheets in hot water to make sure there are no bed bugs in them.

Leave a Reply

