Review: Holes in the Ground by Iain Rob Wright and J.A. Konrath

Holes in the Ground is the sequel to J.A. Konrath’s Origin, and is a collaboration between Konrath and horror writer Iain Rob Wright. It is the story of Andy and Sun Dennison-Jones, who know all too well what it is like to be chased by demons and monsters. Again, they come face to face with their nightmares and all hell breaks loose…literally. 

I am so excited about this book, I’m finding it hard to review it without babbling.

I don’t know how you feel, but when two of my favorite authors collaborate, I almost wet myself with excitement. I first learned of the collaboration between Konrath and Wright a few months ago and because I loved Origin so much, I knew Holes in the Ground would be a winner. I wasn’t disappointed.

The idea for Holes in the Ground came about because Wright loved Origin so much, he wanted to write a continuation of the story. Konrath got in on the action and together, they created a book filled with gore, humor, and excitement that will keep you glued to the story until the very end.

Holes in the Ground revisits your favorite characters from Origin and from Wright’s The Final Winter. There are even “guest appearances” by characters from some of the authors’ other books, but I won’t spoil it by telling you who they are. I will tell you that seeing these characters again was one of the best parts of the book.

Even if you’ve never read either of these authors before, Holes in the Ground is the perfect introduction to their work. The book stands very well on its own and the authors seem to bring out the best in each other.

As a bonus, the authors included Wright’s version of the story, before the collaboration took place and in my opinion, it was even better than the original. So, for $3.99, you get two books in one. 

To check out the authors’ first collaboration give Straight Up a try. 

 

Leave a comment