Author Or Writer?

This morning, I was talking to a parent while dropping my 5-year old off at school. She asked me if I was a teacher, (if you could have seen how I was dressed, you would know how ridiculous that question was.) I told her I was a writer. The next question she asked is one I get a lot of when people find out what I do. “What books have you written?”

That got me thinking. What, if anything, is the difference between a writer and an author? I think there’s a difference.

Granted, I write for a living. I put words to “paper” and with any luck, people read my words and take something away from my writing. My work is not credited, and as long as my bills are getting paid, I’m okay with that. I do my best to give my clients and my current employer the kind of writing and information they’re looking for. I do my job, retain little information from my research, and go on about my day. My writing means very little to me. That is why, in my opinion, I am a writer, not an author.

Authors take the time to provide invaluable information, educate, and entertain. They slave over a computer and put a little of themselves into each and every book they produce. Good authors subtly reveal their strengths, weaknesses, insecurities, sense of humor, etc. into their work, and each book means something to them.

Anyone with a somewhat decent grasp of the English language (or their native language) can write. However, not everyone has what it takes to be an author.

So, are you an author or a writer?

2 thoughts on “Author Or Writer?

  1. Not to cop out, but I think I am both. It depends on the situation. Obviously, for my novels, I am an author. However, when putting together my blog, I am a writer. Many of those posts have a promotional element. Also, I have (re)discovered my old journalism class teacher’s mantra bout headlines. Grab ’em or they will slip away someplace else.

    Like

    • And you have earned the right of being able to introduce yourself as an “author” to those who have spent their lives living under a rock and don’t know who you are. 😉

      I, on the other hand, introduce myself as a writer, and almost every time, someone will ask what books I have written.

      I wish I could write a book! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

