Kindle Unlimited, Love It or Hate It?

It seems that every day, I hear another story of how Kindle Unlimited (KU) is causing authors to lose money. Although it is a brilliant idea for readers like you and me, the authors, those who put their blood, sweat and tears into the books we love, are losing their asses. This really bothers me. Authors, like other artists, work hard to create worlds for use to escape to and characters with whom we can relate.

For those unfamiliar with KU, readers pay $10 per month for unlimited books. You can take up to 10 books at a time and as soon as you’ve finished one, you “return” it and grab another.

I’ve been a member of KU for about three months now. I only use it to discover new authors and if I see a book I might like, by an author I’ve never read before, I’ll scoop it up and give it a read. If I don’t like it, I’m not out any money. If I love it, I will actually purchase every book written by that author. In all honesty, I haven’t used it in a few weeks since I have so many books i already own on my TBR list. Even though you can keep a KU book for as long as you’d like (provided you pay your $10 per month), there’s just something about owning your own copy, even if it is a digital copy, that to me at least, makes buying worthwhile.

If you love an author, especially a horror author, please support him or her by actually buying their books. Horror is a tough enough genre to make money in. Horror authors can only continue to write the stories we love if we support them. Oh, and don’t forget to leave those reviews! Good or bad, they matter.

So, how do you feel about services like KU? Do you think it’s a good deal?  Are you an author who is struggling to make ends meet because of Kindle Unlimited?

2 thoughts on “Kindle Unlimited, Love It or Hate It?

Leave a Reply

